Commercial Property Loan: Financing a Vacant or Self-Use Shop, Office or SCO Unit
A commercial property loan funds a shop, office or clinic that has no tenant behind it, so the bank lends on your income and business record instead of rent. Expect to fund 25% to 40% yourself: lenders cap the loan at roughly 60% to 75% of value, want three years of business history and ITRs, and many refuse SCO plots, unapproved markets and very small units outright.
Key takeaways
- This loan is for vacant or self-use units. If the unit is already let, a lease rental discounting loan sized on the rent usually fits better.
- ICICI Bank publishes up to 70% of market value; Bajaj Finserv up to 60%; Axis Bank asks for a 20% to 30% margin. SBI's shop and office scheme asks for up to 25% on a new unit and up to 40% on an old one.
- Three years of business vintage, three years of ITRs and CA-certified financials, and 12 months of bank statements are the standard file.
- Your total EMIs usually have to stay within 40% to 50% of net monthly income.
- A loan against property (LAP) on a home you own is the fallback when the unit itself fails the bank's checks, but it puts that home on the line.
Which loan you are actually applying for
Banks treat a shop or office in three ways. A let unit can be financed on its rent under LRD. A unit bought empty, to let later or to run your own practice from, needs a commercial property purchase loan, which HDFC Bank offers to doctors, lawyers, chartered accountants and business owners buying an office or clinic. Cash raised against property you already own is a loan against property.
The purchase loan is the one this page covers. Rates, GST on under-construction units and the tax on rent are in our commercial versus residential comparison, so they get only a line here.
Who qualifies and what you file
ICICI Bank opens its commercial purchase loan to salaried people, self-employed professionals and business owners, but asks that a business has run for at least three years. Market-wide, three to five years of operating history is the norm for the self-employed. The standard file looks like this:
- Income: ITRs for the last three years with computation of income, CA-certified balance sheet, profit and loss account and capital account.
- Banking: 12 months of statements for every current and savings account (ICICI Bank's page asks for six months of current account statements; other lender checklists ask for 12).
- Business: GST returns for the last 12 months and registration proof for the firm, partnership or company.
- Property: the title chain, approved building plan, occupation certificate for a ready unit, allotment and builder agreement for a new one, and the RERA registration for an under-construction project.
How the bank reads your income
The starting figure is ITR net profit, not turnover, and many lenders add back depreciation. Then comes a FOIR (fixed obligation to income ratio) of about 40% to 50%: all your EMIs, the new one included, must fit within that share of monthly income. Filing low profits to save tax shrinks the loan too.
Banking-surrogate and GST-surrogate programmes, which size a loan on bank credits or GST turnover instead of ITRs, exist mainly for unsecured business loans. Don't assume a property purchase loan will accept them.
How much banks lend, lender by lender
| Lender | Share of value funded | Tenure | Other terms as published |
|---|---|---|---|
| ICICI Bank | Up to 70% of market value | Up to 20 years (per aggregators) | 3-year business vintage |
| HDFC Bank | 60% to 75% range quoted in the market | 15 years or retirement, if earlier | Processing fee up to 1.5% or Rs 4,500, whichever is higher |
| Axis Bank | 70% to 80% (a 20% to 30% margin) | Up to 20 years | Rs 5 lakh to Rs 5 crore; 1% processing fee |
| SBI (shops and offices) | Margin up to 25% (new unit), up to 40% (old unit) | Not stated | Term loan up to Rs 20 lakh for shops and offices, as summarised by IndiaFilings |
| Bajaj Finserv | Up to 60% of appraised value | Not stated | Loans up to Rs 10.5 crore |
Two cautions on those figures. Aggregator pages summarise lender terms and sometimes lag them, so confirm on the sanction letter. And the percentage applies to the bank's valuation, not your agreed price. If the valuer puts a Rs 1.2 crore office at Rs 1.05 crore, 70% is Rs 73.5 lakh, not Rs 84 lakh.
Under-construction commercial units are usually financed like flats: the lender pays out in stages against the builder's demand letters, and projects the bank has already vetted (an APF approval) clear faster because title and plans were checked once for the whole project.
Units lenders turn down
Your profile can be spotless and the loan still fail because of the unit. The common refusals:
- SCO plots. A shop-cum-office plot is land, not a finished unit. Sellers' own guides disagree: some say banks finance only the construction, others describe plot-plus-construction loans at 60% to 75% of value with 25% to 35% margin. Get a sanction in writing before you commit.
- Unapproved markets, Lal Dora and GPA titles. With no registered title chain or sanctioned plan, there is no occupation certificate, and most nationalised banks will not lend. Some NBFCs and cooperative banks do, at higher rates.
- Very small units. Some lenders set a minimum size, with 300 or 500 sq ft cited in the market, which rules out kiosks and small mall shops.
- Assured-return and virtual units. A food-court seat or an "investment unit" the developer leases back on your behalf is a promise, not a lease. Read our note on assured-return commercial property before relying on one.
- Older resale units. SBI's scheme doubles the margin on an old unit, and valuers mark down ageing buildings.
Purchase loan or loan against property?
| Point | Commercial purchase loan | Loan against property (LAP) |
|---|---|---|
| Security | The unit you are buying | A flat or building you already own |
| Funding | About 60% to 75% of the new unit | About 70% to 75% against a home, 60% to 70% against commercial collateral |
| Published rates | HDFC commercial shop and building loans quoted at 8.75% to 9.40% by one aggregator | HDFC's grid on commercial or non-self-occupied collateral 9.25% to 10.25%; SBI 8.95% to 10.5% |
| Checks on the unit bought | Full legal and technical scrutiny | None on the new unit; scrutiny is on the collateral |
| End use | Paid to the seller or builder | Declared at sanction; many lenders restrict buying another property unless declared |
| What you risk | The shop or office | Your home, if the collateral is your residence |
LAP tempts most when the unit fails the bank's checks. That is when to stop: the defect that stops your bank will stop the next buyer's bank too.
A worked example
A chartered accountant wants a ready 700 sq ft office for Rs 1.2 crore for their own practice. The ITR shows net profit of Rs 30 lakh a year and depreciation of Rs 2 lakh, so the bank reads monthly income of about Rs 2.67 lakh. Existing car and home EMIs come to Rs 40,000 a month.
- Income test: 50% FOIR allows Rs 1,33,333 of EMIs; less Rs 40,000 leaves Rs 93,333. At 9.75% over 15 years that supports about Rs 88 lakh.
- Value test: 70% of a Rs 1.2 crore valuation is Rs 84 lakh, so this is the binding figure.
- EMI: Rs 84 lakh at 9.75% for 15 years is about Rs 88,986 a month.
- Cash needed: Rs 36 lakh plus stamp duty, registration and fit-out.
Now compare a short professional loan. HDFC Bank's business loan for doctors, for example, runs up to Rs 75 lakh over 12 to 72 months. At the same 9.75%, Rs 60 lakh over 72 months costs about Rs 1,10,400 a month against about Rs 63,562 over 15 years. Short-tenure business loans are for equipment, not premises. Interest on a self-use office is claimed as a business expense rather than against rent.
When to hold off
- Your filed profits are thin. Eligibility tracks the ITR.
- The unit needs a workaround to be financed. A LAP on your home to buy a unit no bank will touch doubles your risk.
- You are buying to let but have no tenant. You carry the EMI through the vacancy; our pre-leased listings start with rent in place.
- The business is under three years old. Most lenders will say no.
Frequently asked questions
How much down payment do I need for a commercial property loan?
Usually 25% to 40% of the bank's valuation, plus stamp duty, registration and fit-out. ICICI Bank publishes funding of up to 70%, Bajaj Finserv up to 60%, and SBI's shop and office scheme asks for up to 25% margin on a new unit and 40% on an old one. If the valuation comes in under your price, the gap is also yours.
Can a salaried person get a loan to buy a shop or office?
Yes. ICICI Bank and several others open commercial purchase loans to salaried applicants as well as professionals and business owners. The bank sizes the loan on salary slips, Form 16 and bank statements under the same 40% to 50% FOIR ceiling, and it will look harder at why a salaried buyer wants a vacant unit and how the EMI is paid until rent starts.
Do banks give loans for SCO plots?
Some do, but terms vary more than for finished units. Market guides describe plot-plus-construction loans funding 60% to 75% of value with 25% to 35% margin, while others say lenders finance only the construction. Treat any seller's promise of bank funding as unconfirmed until a lender issues a written sanction on the specific plot.
Is a loan against my house better than a commercial property loan?
Rarely. It mainly helps when the unit itself fails a lender's checks, which is itself a warning. A LAP skips scrutiny of the unit you buy and can fund 70% to 75% of your home's value, but your house becomes the security for a business asset. If the unit could not pass a bank's checks, it may be hard to sell later too.
What business vintage do banks want for a commercial property loan?
Three years is the common floor: ICICI Bank states it outright, and many lenders prefer three to five years of steady operations. They check it through three years of ITRs, CA-certified accounts, GST returns and 12 months of bank statements. A newer business can apply with a co-applicant or a larger down payment, but approval is not assured.
Want to know which loan a shop, office or clinic will qualify for? The Realty Hunting team can check the papers with you, and our commercial listings are a good start.